The Imperfect Project

After taking nearly a year off of blogging, I decided I missed it and wanted to come back.  I won’t be back on a daily basis as I was before but I will pop in here and there and share some of my favorite pictures or some of the digital art I am working on. I am also jumping into a new photo challenge called The Imperfect Project.  This project is based off of the Japanese concept of Wabi-Sabi.  Wikipedia says:

“Wabi-sabi (?) represents Japanese aesthetics and a Japanese world view centered on the acceptance of transience and imperfection. The aesthetic is sometimes described as one of beauty that is “imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete”.[2] It is a concept derived from the Buddhist teaching of the three marks of existence (三法印 sanbōin?), specifically impermanence (無常 mujō?), suffering ( ku?) and emptiness or absence of self-nature ( ?).  Characteristics of the wabi-sabi aesthetic include asymmetry, asperity (roughness or irregularity), simplicity, economy, austerity, modesty, intimacy, and appreciation of the ingenuous integrity of natural objects and processes.”

So, in other words, I will be looking for beauty in imperfections.   This week the weather has made a complete turn around and it feels like Spring again.  I went for a long walk and noticed all of the new growth.  I especially noticed a lot of fungi.  Once I looked at it up close I noticed the beautiful markings…so that will be my first posting to The Imperfect Project:  Fungi.

Fungi

10 thoughts on “The Imperfect Project

  1. Stunning Observation and DOF to paint the picture. But being a Fun Guy myself this many together has to constitute a “Party” or is that just another example of my imperfect “Sense of Humour”?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tammy, I am glad you are back – I missed your view of the world! What a great way to start your new project, happy to be sharing the journey of wabi-sabi with you. What a great example of beauty in imperfection.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Julie! Looks like a few more joined in too. Hard to look at beauty as imperfect though lol I guess nothing is perfect (except me) LOLOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

